The Great Hall of the Perm Philharmonic

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)
The St Matthew Passion

a sacred oratorio for solo voices, double choir and double orchestra with libretto by Picander (Christian Friedrich Henrici), BWV 244 (1727–1729/1736)

MusicAeterna Choir and Orchestra
Alexander Ponomaryov "Vesna" Children's Choir

Guest soloists

Conductor – Teodor Currentzis


One can hardly imagine now that Johann Sebastian Bach’s St Matthew Passion – this cornerstone of all European music of the 18th–21st centuries – had to be rediscovered by twenty-year-old Felix Mendelssohn in 1829. In his native Leipzig’s St. Thomas Church, the oratorio was performed not only during Bach’s lifetime, but also for another half century after (until 1800). However, this masterpiece gained European and later world fame thanks to romanticists – at the time when the principles of music organization and the instruments of the Baroque era themselves fell, as it seemed then, into oblivion. The St Matthew Passion (followed by the Mass in B Minor and other works by Bach) proved to have overcome the stylistic, technological, and ideological gap and speak to the people of the new age in their language. Since then, each epoch has comprehended and interpreted this spiritual oratorio in its own way.

all tickets sold out more

Shpagin Plant, Litera A

Pascal Dusapin (b. 1955)
Passion, an opera in 10 scenes (2006–2007)

Libretto by Pascal Dusapin and Rita de Letteriis
Director Anna Guseva
Musical Director and Conductor Teodor Currentzis
The musicAeterna Orchestra, soloists, the musicAeterna Dance troupe



Pascal Dusapin is one of the most successful composers in modern France, a student of Iannis Xenakis, a graduate of the Sorbonne, and a long-time participant in the Diaghilev Festival. In 2012, he personally attended the premiere of the opera MedeaMaterial presented in Perm. This time the festival addresses his opera Passion (18+) written in 2007. Its plot is based on the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice. An hour and a half action is a time-stretched moment of their parting. Music flexibly follows the dynamics of feelings, as joy, fear, desire, pain, ecstasy, sadness, anger and love alternate in it. The original interpretation of one of the most important works of the 21st century will be presented by the Musical Director of the production Teodor Currentzis, Director Anna Guseva, and the artists of the musicAeterna Orchestra and Choir.

all tickets sold out more
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. The Magic Flute

Concert 25.06 / tu / 19:00—22:00
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. The Magic Flute

all tickets sold out
Igor Stravinsky. The Rake’s Progress

Concert 22.06 / sa / 19:00—22:30
Igor Stravinsky. The Rake’s Progress

Soldatov Culture Palace

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
The Magic Flute, an opera-singspiel K.620 (1791)

Libretto by Emanuel Schikaneder

Director Nina Vorobyova
Musical Director and Conductor Evgeny Vorobyov
Guest soloists
The musicAeterna Orchestra 


The Magic Flute by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is a fairy tale with a double bottom. The opera's plot is saturated with both deep philosophical meanings and theatrical effects. Buffoonery is juxtaposed with high solemnity, while orphic motives are combined with Masonic symbols and ideas of the Enlightenment. Protagonists undergo magical trials to find the ultimate truth. Day fights night, good fights evil, and in the end love, loyalty, and fortitude win — and, in no small part, the magic of the music itself. A new version of the classic masterpiece will be created at the festival by conductor Evgeny Vorobyov, the musicians of musicAeterna, and director Nina Vorobyova.
all tickets sold out more

Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
The Rake’s Progress, an opera (1951)

Libretto by Winston Auden and Chester Kallman

Production Musical Director and Conductor: Fyodor Lednev
Stage Director: Andrey Prikotenko
Set and Costume Designer: Olga Shaishmelashvili
Lighting Designer: Konstantin Binkin
Assistant Conductor: Ivan Khudyakov-Vedenyapin
Assistant Stage Director: Tatiana Poluektova

Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre Production as part of the Diaghilev Festival


The Rake's Progress is Stravinsky's only major opera in the truest sense of the word: this is a multi-act composition with recitatives, arias and ensembles, unalloyed with any other musical and theatrical genres. The deliberate obsoleteness of the form becomes the starting point for modernist play: the opera's music, like its libretto, balances between respect for the past and an ironic perspective on it.
As part of the Diaghilev Festival, the Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre will present the premiere of Igor Stravinsky's opera The Rake's Progress (16+) interpreted by the Artistic Director of the Novosibirsk 'Krasny Fakel' Theatre, director Andrey Prikotenko, and a great connoisseur of the 20th century music, conductor Fyodor Lednev.
tickets more