Concept

International Diaghilev Festival aims at promoting and developing traditions of the outstanding impresario and communicator of Russian culture Sergei Pavlovich Diaghilev.

It is far from coincidence that it was Perm Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre named after P.I.Tchaikovsky to initiate the first Diaghilev Festival in Russia.

Perm is the childhood city of Sergei Diaghilev, the only city to have the Memorial House of the legendary impresario. Besides, Perm Opera House building itself was constructed due to a significant financial help from the Diaghilev family.

MultiGenre Features

Festival’s special feature is not only the place - Perm city - but, mainly, the multigenre character of its programming. Diverse activities of Sergei Diaghilev in the areas of opera, ballet, music, arts, and publishing lie in the core of the festival’s structure and are realised in its many artistic events.

Being “kind of reflection of Sergei Diaghilev’s Les Saisons Russes in the mirror of time” (Vedomosti newspaper), festival brings together modern ideas and projects with the art of the first 30 years of the XX century — era of the creative successes of the great impresario. Thus, new theatre formats and new forms of communication with the audience are born.

Festival’s program includes world premieres of operas and ballets, contemporary dance performances, art exhibitions, visual art, concerts of classical and modern symphonic music, chamber, jazz, experimental and ethnic music, performances, dramatic performances, retrospectives, photo exhibitions, as well as the Educational program and a rich additional club program.

Festival Organizers

The Festival is held by Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre since 2003. It started as a biennale, yet since 2011 it has become annual.

Founding members of the festival are  the Ministry of Culture of Perm Krai and Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre.

Permanent partner of the Festival is the Department of Culture and Youth Policy of Perm Administration. .

Nicholas Payne — president of the Opera Europa Association, member of which is Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre, — named International Diaghilev Festival among significant European cultural events in his speech at the opening of the traditional conference in Monte-Carlo in 2005.

Artistic Director of the Festival — conductor Teodor Currentzis:

  • founder and artistic director of the musicAeterna orchestra and choir

  • from 2011 to 2019 — Artistic Director of Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre

  • 8 times laureate of the Golden Mask National Theatre Award

  • laureate of the KAIROS Award of the Alfred Toepler Stiftung Foundation

Концепция

Международный Дягилевский фестиваль стремится укреплять и развивать традиции выдающегося импресарио и пропагандиста русской культуры Сергея Павловича Дягилева.

Далеко не случайно, что именно Пермский академический театр оперы и балета им. П. И. Чайковского выступил инициатором первого Дягилевского фестиваля в России.

Пермь — город, в котором прошло детство Сергея Дягилева, и где находится единственный в мире Дом-музей легендарного импресарио. Кроме того, здание Пермского оперного театра было построено благодаря значительной финансовой поддержке Дягилевых.

Мультижанровый характер

Особенностью фестиваля является не только место проведения — город Пермь, главное — это мультижанровый характер программы. Разносторонняя деятельность Сергея Дягилева, связанная с оперно-балетным театром, музыкой, изобразительным искусством, издательским делом, составляет структуру фестиваля и реализуется в комплексе художественных событий.

Будучи «своеобразным отражением “Русских сезонов” Сергея Дягилева в зеркале времени» («Ведомости»), фестиваль объединяет современные идеи и проекты с искусством первой трети XX века — эпохи, которой принадлежат творческие свершения великого импресарио. Так рождаются новые театральные форматы и новые формы взаимодействия с публикой.

Афиша фестиваля включает мировые премьеры оперных и балетных спектаклей, постановки в области современного танца, художественные выставки, visual art, паблик-арт, концерты классической и современной симфонической, камерной, джазовой, экспериментальной и этнической музыки, перформансы, драматические спектакли, ретроспективы, фотовыставки, а также Образовательную программу и насыщенную клубную программу.

Организаторы фестиваля

Фестиваль проводится Пермским театром оперы и балета с 2003 года. Он начинался в формате биеннале, а с 2011-го стал ежегодным. 

Учредителями фестиваля являются Министерство культуры Пермского края и Пермский театр оперы и балета.

Постоянным партнером фестиваля выступает Департамент культуры и молодежной политики администрации г. Перми.

Николас Пейн — президент ассоциации «Opera Europa», членом которой является Пермский театр оперы и балета, — в своей речи на открытии традиционной конференции в Монте-Карло в 2005 году назвал Международный Дягилевский фестиваль в числе знаковых культурных событий Европы.

Художественный руководитель фестиваля — дирижер Теодор Курентзис:

  • основатель и художественный руководитель оркестра musicAeterna и хора musicAeterna
  • с 2011 по 2019 год — художественный руководитель Пермского театра оперы и балета
  • восьмикратный лауреат Национальной театральной премии «Золотая Маска»
  • лауреат премии KAIROS от Фонда Альфреда Тёплера Штифтунга